Winter under cultivation
Is as arable as Spring
– Emily Dickinson

Winter has really bared its teeth this week. Howling winds, lashing rains, bitter cold. I’ve never really enjoyed the winter months. Dull skies. Biting air. My nose always running, my hands always cold; the knuckles becoming inflamed and itchy with chilblains… I’ve always felt better, happier and more energetic in the light and the warmth.

But in the past few years I’ve found more and more things to love about the winter months. I’ve started to feel a strange sort of joy in being rugged up to my eyeballs, making (and consuming) thick vegetable soups, and pouring endless cups of tea. All the lovely, soft, nourishing things that warm the body.

But what about the mind? The creativity? How to warm them? I think it’s these things (among others) that begin to wither in the winter months, when everything is cold and dull – and it’s this that makes us feel so flat. So, we must cultivate!

This week I discovered the music of Danish singer songwriter Agnes Obel, and it’s certainly cracked open a little pot of internal gold that’s brightening my week.

 

Leave a Reply

